Clock Go Bing! Cash Go Ching!

My perception of time. Tada gone!

I normally expect the sun to go down at 6pm. But it’s different here. In the summertime the sun leaves the sky pretty late. Like 8pm onwards.

It’s been tiring so far.

I’ve been trying to figure out how to spend my hard-earned money from working in Brunei on some technology necessities.

I plan to buy the following within the following week:

  1. Phone plan with Rogers

    What I need it for: So that future clients can call, so that my parents can get a hold of me even if I’m out being a good child and for friends to keep tabs on me so that they can introduce me to new clients =P

    How much it costs: Registering costs $6 something. The plan costs $20 a month. For additional features like Caller ID – which I think should be free – costs $11. After simple math, it comes to $37.

  2. 500GB Hard-Disk Drive

    What I need it for: Keeping master files of poster productions, as well as pictures, and my ever increasing music selections!

    How much it costs:
    After a discussion with tech-god and most-of-the-friend Kevin Loh I’ve banking between getting an external HDD, or an internal one with housing (which is sometimes the cheaper option). Will keep you all updated. Right now my budget is $150. Impossible to find? Not exactly. I saw one just now on Future Shop. Will possibly be getting it Friday afternoon, if the price doesn’t suddenly spike overnight!

  3. New Headphones

    What I need it for: After handing down my Sony headphones and Creative mp3 player (which I’ve had for over 2 years now), I definitely want to buy a fresh pair of good quality headphones. If i bought the exact same one I had last time, it’d cost $17. But if I were to get one of the following from WESC…


    …then yum. Looks quite outlandish, but I’m kinda’ bored with plain Jane black headsets.

    What it costs: $55. Tax and shipping could push it up to about $80.

  4. And if there’s space in the budget… more RAM!

    Why I need it: I’ve no intention of buying a new laptop anytime soon within the next year or two. But my client and sometime-mentor Matt mentioned that I should just add more RAM so that my laptop can “fly” (that’s the exact word he used). I want my laptop to “fly”, since I’ll be working with posters in Photoshop! And DJ mixes too. And possibly video in the near future.

    What it costs:
    Had to talk to brainiac Kevin Loh yet again for consultation of proper RAM for my laptop. I will have to do more research in the coming week…

So yea. That’s what’s going on with me right now while I’m here back in SJ. Have many things to do which are school-related.

The pics and story from HongKong are still in draft mode but I’ll get back on it tomorrow and will publish it soon.

Plus… I think I’ve fallen quite sick to the jetlag.

One thought on “Clock Go Bing! Cash Go Ching!

  1. I reckon you to get 2GB DDR2-667 Mhz memory and an internal Seagate 750GB 7,200rpm converted to an External Drive by a HDD housing.

Leave a Reply

